Spinach Strata

29 May

My mother is a phenomenal cook who can create a meal with just a few ingredients whereas I’m more of a follow the recipe type of cook. Occasionally I can look at a recipe and become the queen of substitutions out of necessity (i.e my budget calls for a cheaper version). Hence how the Spinach Strata came about. I really wanted to try the Spinach and Cheese Strata I found on Pinterest. However I was shopping at a Target and they do not carry Gruyere cheese, so I had to decide —-do I change a few ingredients or do I drive to another store and find some Gruyere cheese.  You guessed it, I changed a few items and came up with a wonderful creation.  The substitution of King Hawaiian sweet rolls instead of french bread makes it  a scrumptious savory dish.  I hope you enjoy my creation.

Spinach Strata 

Ingredients

  • 3 tbs. butter
  • medium size onion, chopped*
  • 18 King Hawaiian sweet rolls, cut into 1 inch cubes*
  • 4 cups frozen spinach, thawed and drained*
  • 1 tsp coarse sea salt*
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • 1/4 tsp allspice*
  • 8oz  Italian blended grated cheese*
  • 10 eggs*
  • 2 1/2 cups milk*

Melt the butter in skillet and then add the chopped onion. Saute the onions until they appear clear. Then add the spinach to the skillet. Continue to saute the spinach and onions for another 5 minutes.

Coat the baking dish with cooking spray. Take half of the cubed sweet rolls and layer it on the bottom of the baking dish. In take half of the spinach and onion mixture and cover it over the bread. Take half of the cheese and sprinkle it over the spinach and bread mixture. Repeat the step with the remaining bread, spinach mixture and cheese.

In a bowl whip together the eggs and milk. Add the salt, pepper and allspice to the egg mixture. Mix together and pour over the entire spinach dish. Cover the dish and refrigerate for at least 8 hours.

Preheat the oven at 350 degrees. Take the dish out of the fridge 30 minutes before baking. Remove the cover and bake for 45 to 55 minute until golden brown. Allow the dish to settle for at least 10 minutes before serving.

Please note the asterisk ingredients are my modifications from http://annies-eats.com/2010/03/15/spinach-and-cheese-strata/ “Spinach and Cheese Strata”.

Leave a comment